Knitting, winter, and horrible backache!

We finally got winter this week.  We had mornings when it was below zero and daytime highs no greater than 10.  We didn’t get snow until yesterday though, and then the temperature went up today.  I am not sure if I’ll be getting to use either my snowshoes or the new ski boots I got.  My hometown got upwards of 18 inches of snow (some places got over 24!) recently but I don’t require that much here – enough to cover the grass and not wreck my skis but I don’t need more than that!

I’ve been doing some knitting and have some new hat patterns up at Finngarian Knits.    I have been working on a new pair of socks again, with some cubic needles and some lovely aqua colored yarn.  I finally figured out a picot edge after having tried it several times before.  Watch for some photos as I continue the socks.

This week I’ve had a horrible back ache.  I was talking to a friend about it and she suggested I might be clenching up my back muscles.  I started paying closer attention and she was right – I’ve been holding the muscles around my ribs very tight and I can sometimes relax them if I concentrate on it.  No wonder I’ve been in so much pain.  I know it’s from stress and grieving, some days are better than others and some days are pretty bad.  I’m just really super tired of feeling so awful.  Maybe doing some yoga would help with the relaxation.  I haven’t been wanting to go do anything with anyone and I’m not very chatty on facebook or some of the other places I’ve been known to talk.  I just don’t have much to say!  Well, I have stuff to say, but it’s the same old thing.

On the cooking front, I brought home 1/4 of a steer this week and it’s in the freezer.  It is so good to have someone in the family who raises cattle for meat on a diet that they are supposed to have.  I have been taking the time to read and learn about all the garbage in our food supply and how we have been mislead about what we should be eating and how much of it.  Interesting stuff.

Look for photos of the snow-lady my daughter and husband made today!

5 thoughts on “Knitting, winter, and horrible backache!

  1. I’m glad you’re blogging again! I love seeing all your projects. Stress and grief can manifest in physical ways, I’m so sorry you have to go through this. But on another note, I love the snowwoman’s crazy hair! It makes me smile! 🙂 Love you!!!

    1. Thank you, I’m really excited that you’re blogging again too. I know you’re no stranger to grief either, I guess it’s part of life because eventually you’ll lose someone you love dearly. I loved the hair too, it reminds me of both my and her crazy stringy hair, lol 🙂 I love you too Dear!

Leave a Reply

