New Year

It’s the start of another year again and this time always feels like a fresh start. This year, the holidays were particularly difficult. We suddenly lost a very close family friend about 10 days before Christmas. She was a lovely lady, and I was closer to her and her family than most of my own family. Most of our Christmas break was spent traveling to the UP for her funeral, and there are a couple of things that seem to happen with both funerals and travel – eating too much of the wrong stuff, drinking too much of the wrong stuff, sitting around and not getting enough sleep. So the start of this year feels like a big new beginning… we are all adjusting to life without Marilyn, and I am going to be spending quite a lot of time staying in touch with her kids.

One thing I wanted to do more this year is blog. I tend to be on Facebook a lot because it’s quick and easy and I get to talk to everyone all in one place. However, it doesn’t really allow for elaboration of thoughts, and I have friends who are not on Facebook. Now that I have one child in school full time and one at home who (usually) can entertain herself, I think I might be able to make a better commitment to my blogs.

Composting is going to be another new year project. Right now we do recycle, and we do compost other yard waste and big stuff like old pumpkins. I think I want to incorporate produce scraps to keep them out of the landfill and out of our septic tank. I just need to make a decision about how to contain it, since we do have a lot of wildlife out here who would probably have a lot of fun in the compost pile!

Probably my biggest project for the year is to try to bring more peace into my life and home. I am finding that the old saying “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t NOBODY happy” is quite true. I am finding that when I am having a good day, everyone else does well and things are harmonious. If I am off or am having a rather miserable stretch, everything in my house is chaotic. It’s like the kids know I am feeling burned out and miserable and they just reflect that. I actually have more time now to devote to making my house peaceful which helps, but I need to make that more introspective as well. Being gentle with oneself, forgiving others, and looking at life positively all help. I also think that the kids are old enough to give me the time and space I need to take care of myself. I will be a happier person and a better mom for it.

Leave a Reply

