Not blogging

Wow, I haven’t updated this in forever. In a nutshell, this fall has been insane. My son started preschool and he loves it. He attends Nature Preschool and it is really fantastic – they learn a lot about biology and ecology and stuff like that… and they spend half their morning outdoors no matter what the weather. The teachers are really wonderful with the kids, very patient and gentle, just amazing! This is such a good fit for him. I have volunteered a few times and my daughter loves it too. When she is old enough, I hope to consider that school for her as well.

In October, both kids had what I’m certain was H1N1. They both had the symptoms, right down the list. I felt a little bit sick and had a really deep, itchy cough, but maybe I am old enough that I might have encountered a similar virus along the way. In any case they both came through that without any problems – no need for the doctor at all. There were tons of kids out of school during that time in Midland and the news said 99% of the flu here in my county was H1N1.

Then, just when both kids were done with the flu, we started remodeling the kitchen. We do all our own work and our cabinets came in the first week of November. We did a couple of marathon weeks of demolishing and putting the new stuff in – it is not totally finished, but it is totally functional.  We still need to do the flooring, backsplash and painting.  But I am moved in, and it’s a pleasure to work in such a beautiful kitchen.  I’m really pleased with how well it’s turning out.

After all of this, unfortunately I had a mono flare up.  I talked with my doctor about this and she said that it might not even show up on a blood test, but it’s enough to make me feel unwell.  We talked about some supplements to try and I’m going to give it a go here in earnest and see if I feel any better.  It doesn’t help that I have gotten so little uninterrupted sleep over the past 5+ years.  I was reading about chronic Epstein-Barr virus and it sounds like it is not common – most people get it and don’t even know it – some people get mono from it but most of those people don’t ever get mono again.  Not me, lucky me!  I guess if I’d have gotten it in high school my mother would have made me stay home in bed until I was better.  That won’t happen with a 38 year old mother of a newborn and a 2 year old.

I am looking forward to spending some time with my family over Christmas.  It will be so good to see my mom, my dad and step-mom and my step-mom’s family.  And I hope to do some skiing and snowshoeing as well.  I hope all of you have good holidays this year.

One thought on “Not blogging

Leave a Reply

