Communicable disease of the month

This month, it’s Coxsackie virus – otherwise known as hand, foot, and mouth disease. Not to be confused with hoof and mouth disease, which is a disease of cattle. This one starts with a really high fever, then progresses to a child with sores in his/her mouth, and the whole thing is nicely decorated with extreme fussiness. Sophie went from fairly OK to suddenly screaming Thursday evening, and we didn’t know why. Then Saturday I saw the blisters in her mouth. She never did get a hand/foot rash but she did have 1-2 spots on one hand. Not much you can do except tylenol/motrin and benadryl. By the way benadryl does not make my kids sleepy. It does not wind them up, but it doesn’t make them sleep either. Lucky me right?

Yesterday Will had a fever and was puking but he went to bed, stayed there all night and was fine this morning. Appetite not the best but he’s nibbled a little here and there all day. Sophie seems herself for the most part but I can see spots in her mouth, including a big one under her tongue. No wonder the poor thing has hardly been able to nurse! 😦 And it is crazy contagious… so we’ve all been staying in.

I was feeling OK, tired, but today my throat is sore. However it could be mono again, which flares up whenever I don’t get enough rest. Before the kids got sick, I was up several nights coughing from a mild cold. It’s always something…

2 thoughts on “Communicable disease of the month

  1. I am *so* sorry. You guys go through *so* much. It’s a shame that there isn’t some particular medicine that Sophie can take in order to feel better (besides the regular stuff). I hope that Will doesn’t get it. Yes, there is always something, isn’t there? Hoping that you feel better VERY soon.

  2. Woww that was odd. I jjst wrote an reallyy long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m noot writing all that overr again. Regardless, just wanjted to say wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

