I don’t like Ike

We’ve gotten about 2 1/2 inches of rain in the past couple of days, mostly from the remnants of Hurricane Ike. Now our basement is leaking water. I’m so not happy. We spent all this time trying to fix the grade around our house so we wouldn’t have this trouble, but we have it anyway. My husband has spent the whole evening vacuuming up water and setting up a borrowed pump. I am sure he’ll be down there on and off throughout the night. It has stopped raining and it isn’t supposed to rain the rest of the week. I know that folks who REALLY got slammed by Hurricane Ike would LOVE to have my problems instead of the troubles they have where they live… but you know what? This is Michigan. We get snow, not hurricanes. And I am frustrated about this water stuff… I think we are going to have to probably do the unthinkable and put in new tile. My husband and I haven’t actually said it to each other, but I’m afraid that’s what is going to have to happen. It’s always these annoying problems! I wound up putting both kids to bed tonight and that was not for the faint of heart. Will actually fell asleep on his own although I had to get all over him to make him do it. I need a shower. I should go before someone wakes up.

Leave a Reply

