Recipe and kitty news

We think the girls have names! The black one is going to be Betty (Oh black Betty, bam ba lam) and Roxy (ROOOOOXanne! You don’t have to turn on the red light…). We wanted to name them after songs and this is what we came up with! I think the names are going to stick. They are doing really well! After pooping in the wrong place a few times, I’ve kept them confined to their own room on and off through the day so they will get the right idea. Also it gives them a break from the kids, who tend to love them, er, a little TOO much!

One cool thing that happened this week, was that I got in touch with a friend of mine from grade school! We’ve been having fun exchanging emails. (I hope I don’t get her in trouble with her work!) She’s got a blog and I’ll see if I can link to it. We haven’t talked in probably 15 years so catching up has been fun.

I just tried a recipe that my mom got off the radio at home (WMPL) and she LOVES IT. It’s a cake that you make in a coffee mug in the microwave! Here are the directions:

3 tablespoons flour
3 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
dash salt
Mix thoroughly, then add:
1 egg
3 tablespoons milk (can use dairy substitute)
3 tablespoons oil
a little vanilla
3 tablespoons chocolate chips

Mix all together and pour into a large coffee mug. Microwave for 3 minutes on high. No need to oil the mug. You can slice it and dust with powdered sugar.

IMO, it is pretty rubbery. It tasted OK but I’m going to let it cool before I really get a mouthful. You could split this easily between 2-3 people. It was interesting to try it anyway! It was kind of fun to see it rise out of the cup. Kind of like blowing up marshmallows in the microwave.

Hope you all have a good weekend. We are feeling like we are coming down with colds so it might not be that great of a weekend. Plus is it supposed to rain. I am knitting some Selbu mittens, they are the ones with the big snowflakes on the back of the hand, and they originate in Norway. I haven’t taken pictures of them yet but I will once I get a little more done. I also finished some felted slippers for my husband. They were so huge when I got done knitting them, that I could put one on my head. They felted down perfectly and the pattern was a very well-engineered one! I’d make them again. Definitely not something you can do while the kids are still up!

One thought on “Recipe and kitty news

  1. Man, that is funny,
    now I know you won’t believe me, but I SWEAR I didn’t read your blog and then search for that recipe (the microwave cake)!!! I ended up making a pudding instead but it must be the weather or something… maybe I’m surfing in my sleep!

    also pretty cool that I used a Hungarian endorsed paprika! do tell me all your fave paprika recipes… it is my favorite spice lately!
    elizabeth

Leave a Reply

