Shoulda just gone to medical school

Because I am an awesome amateur pediatrician.  I wound up taking Sophie to the doctor yesterday because I called them about her fever.  She was on day 3 of on and off high fevers (over 102) and they are closed on Friday.  She wanted to see her so we went in.  They were insanely busy, but she doesn’t turn anyone away so we waited.  When she checked her over, said her ears looked fine, and told me it was probably what they call “viral syndrome”.  I told her, that was my diagnosis as of the day before!  She also said it could be the beginning of roseola and if she gets a rash once the fever is gone, that’s what it is.

Otherwise we are going to keep treating the fever (medicine if she’s uncomfortable) and give lots of fluids.  Today she was still feeling pretty hot, so she got medicine because she was whining and clingy.

Last night I gave her medicine at 2:30 and she was up for the next two hours.  Finally I just turned over and told her she could do what she wanted, but to leave me alone so I could sleep.  Next thing I knew, it was 8:30.  She has had one crappy nap of 45 minutes today and THAT’S IT.  I always want to sleep when I don’t feel good, what is wrong with my kids?  Most of the time I want to rip my hair out.

I swear I am never going to miss these days.  This is just too much.

2 thoughts on “Shoulda just gone to medical school

  1. See, that’s the thing … my husband and my mother keep saying, “Oh, but you’ll miss these days when the kids are all grown!” My husband keeps saying, “This stuff is only temporary.” PLEASE don’t tell me that anymore!!! I realize that it won’t be like this forever, but when you’re going through it, it seems like it will NEVER end!!! Ugh … I’m not a big fan of toddlerhood. *sigh* I’ve felt REALLY stressed out lately. I’m so sorry for what you’re going through. How do we moms keep doing it, when it’s all just too much???

Leave a Reply

