Projects

The last post was a long one and I didn’t get much of a chance to talk about what I’ve been knitting!  I managed to finish my Felici toe up sock, and have yet to start the second one.  I am working on the second sock that I’m making with Tofutsies, which I really dislike, because it’s slippery and splitty and I should have used smaller needles.  I have also turned the heel and finished the gusset on my first Wildfoote sock.  And, the hat to match my mittens might be about 1/3 of the way done.  I might finish things a little faster if I didn’t have so darn many projects going at once!  I picked up some nice sockina cotton yarn at a yarn shop back home, along with some cherry tree hill superwash merino.  Not sure when I’ll get to starting those.  I need to finish up some things here.  Speaking of which, even though I really don’t like working with Tofutsies, a certain friend with a July birthday (shhhhh) really liked how my pair was turning out so I am seriously considering a pair of handknit socks for her sometime in the future!  Except I will use a 1 or 0 this time because a 2 was too big.   Yes, Dear, I love you so much that I am willing to knit you some socks with yarn I don’t like.  I wouldn’t do it for anyone else though!  😉  (Get your mind out of the gutter, this is a girl who was like a sister growing up!)

My same sister-friend also bought me a very nice Arab cookbook called “The Arab Table” and I can’t wait to give a few things in it a try.  The pictures always look SO nice and I think I am ready to try some meat or chicken dishes.

Now that I am pretty sure the mono I had since May is gone, I have started my daughter in cloth diapers again.  I like using them!  But it was too much screwing around when I didn’t feel good.  My husband said I must be getting better sleep because when I wasn’t, I couldn’t stand the thought.  I need to go through the diapers on the changing table and take out all the small ones.  There are covers in there that we used when she was 2-3 months old and no way do they fit her now!  So you can see how long it’s been since I decided to shelve that for a while.  (For the record, we have prefolds with pins, snappis and many covers, both PUL and wool… and some all in ones that are All Together Diapers.)

Oh, and one ongoing project is to try to get this house in presentable condition.  Oh my, that is the hardest of all.  No matter what I do, the place looks trashed, and I mean EVERY ROOM.  Nothing ever looks put together!  Maybe it’s because I have a 10 month old who I can’t put down and a pretty messy 3 year old?  I keep trying to tell myself that it won’t always be this way but it sure seems to be going on for a long time.

I considered putting in all kinds of nice links in here but the kids are all freaking out and I just don’t have time.  So please feel free to use Google and it will take you to all the sites and brands I’ve mentioned.  🙂

One thought on “Projects

  1. Hi Liz,
    Long time so see. I have a lot of catching up to do on your blog. I’ll try to do better at keeping in touch.

Leave a Reply

