Excuses, excuses

I was having a conversation with my mom the other day about why babies don’t sleep.  I remembered a bit from my friends at Sleep Is For The Weak about excuses and thought I’d make my own list.

This is my list of excuses babies have for not sleeping:

Too tired, not tired, too much excitement, not enough stimulation, too much stimulation, immature nervous system, too interested in the world around them, not enough naps, too much naps, sick, teething, teething for like a month for only one tooth, learning to sit, learning to crawl, learning to stand, learning to walk, learning to talk, something they ate, something I ate, not enough solids, too many solids, wants to play, just doesn’t feel like sleeping, too hot, too cold, not close enough to you in the bed, too close to you, room too loud, room too quiet, ran around too much, didn’t run around enough, didn’t get outside, went outside for too long, late nap, missed late nap, thinking about something they saw earlier, hungry, too full, needs to burp, needs to puke, can’t find pacifier, doesn’t want pacifier, no feet in pj’s, fleece pj’s, missed bath, water in ear, travelling, strange bed, room too bright, room too dark, to bed too late, to bed too early…..

This is making me tired.  I’m going to bed.

2 thoughts on “Excuses, excuses

Leave a Reply

