I’m better today

After spending the last two posts complaining about how crappy my life is, I’m finally ready to post something positive.  It’s hotter than heck today (supposed to be in the mid 90’s) but we don’t have to go anywhere!  So we’ll stay inside in the A/C today.  My husband has been working a lot of extra time at work trying to fix a problem so he is taking tomorrow off.  This is World Breastfeeding Month and there is a breastfeeding walk in Bay City tomorrow that I’m going to with the kids, so he’ll get a little time at home by himself.  It will just be nice to see him 3 days in a row!  I love that!

Sophie didn’t do too bad last night.  I might be getting a little bit used to sleeping through her wakefulness at night now.  I remember taking her out of the cosleeper and putting her in the bed to nurse, then waking up an hour or so later, not remembering whether or not I nursed her, so I offered it again.  I think I might be a little more aware of her cues at night than my husband, so it’s probably better that I sleep nearer to her.  He had been sleeping near the cosleeper to give me a break but I think I notice her little stirrings in the night and probably keep her from waking up a lot faster than he does.  I think it’s just mother’s instincts.  Her naps were better yesterday too, she didn’t need my help at all for the first one which was 2 hours long.  Today, just now I helped her for just a second but didn’t actually need to lay with her long.  So maybe she is learning a little more now how to sleep.

I bought a counted cross stitch kit and started working on it.  I haven’t done that for years but I used to do them all the time, I’d get these huge, elaborate ones like from Teresa Wentzler and Mirabilia.  (Here is one of the TW’s I was working on a few years ago!)  I even stitched the whole Mona Lisa and it’s framed and hanging on the living room wall!  I just couldn’t concentrate when I was pregnant with Will and it was downhill from there.  I am trying to get back to little things I used to enjoy because I just don’t feel well a lot and the kids stress me out, so I need to have something during the day.  The kit I have now is a wreath of the four seasons – it’s almost bordering on a little too country for me but it’s still pretty, I’ll probably make it into a pillow when it’s done.

2 thoughts on “I’m better today

  1. Yeah, you’re feeling better. It’s good to hear your doing cross stitch again. You are SO right. Women NEED to do things they like that have nothing to do with rearing children. Here’s hoping you continue to get good sleep.

  2. That’s awesome that you’re feeling better. The cross stitch kits you’re doing are beautiful! I’m trying to spend more time scrapbooking lately to maintain a sense of “me”. Hopefully it works!

    We had fun with you at the breastfeeding walk!

Leave a Reply

