The moods of Lake Superior…

One of the things I love the most about home is Lake Superior. It is so beautiful, can be so dangerous… its moods regulate and dictate the weather and the climate. When the weather gets crazy, the lake is crazy too, one thing I miss so much is being able to drive 15 minutes to go watch the lake when there is a high wind warning! It was very windy one day (gusts near 50 mph) and we drove out to the lake to get some pictures. I haven’t posted any pictures here yet but I’m going to attempt it.

The night after the big wind, we went to a beach outside of Hancock. It was still windy right on the beach and we got more great pictures. I decided I had to take a bit of the beach home with me so I picked up a handful of rocks that are so common on Lake Superior beaches, and got an old Pepsi bottle from the truck to collect some water. I got both feet wet trying to get my water but fortunately the water wasn’t that cold. Of course, that’s all relative, because even during a very hot summer, I doubt the lake temperature goes above 60 degrees. The coldest lake temp from my scuba diving days was about 35 degrees and guess what folks… THAT is COLD!!! Even with hot water in the wetsuit, WHOO!!! Is that cold. So around 50 is really quite warm to me.

Oh I do miss the big lake, terribly. I don’t miss the 5 day snow storms that tally up many feet of snow, but I do miss the lake. Off to try to get some pictures up now.

Lake Superior during a high wind warning

Lake Superior the next day, that’s me looking for agates. (I didn’t find any!)

One thought on “The moods of Lake Superior…

  1. I’M ON WORDPRESS.
    IT’S HARD TO USE. I AM STILL GETTING USED TO IT. IF IT DOESN’T GET TOO FRUSTRATING, I’LL STAY. I LIKE THE LOOK OF IT.
    DON’T TELL ANYONE BUT….ONCE…IN FRONT OF MY KIDS AND HUSBAND….I WHIPPED OFF MY CLOTHES AND JUMPED IN THE LAKE. AND JUMPED OUT AS FAST…THAT WILL MAKE YOUR NIPPLES HARD. HOPE I DIDN’T FREAK OUT THE KIDS…BUT I JUST HAD TO DO IT.

Leave a Reply

