Last few days before we head north!

I am really looking forward to spending some time in the UP.  We are heading up there on Sunday and will be there for two weeks!  I am very homesick and I can’t wait to be home… down here is OK but it’s not home.  I know I’ll be visiting the beach in the above picture, so I’ll probably get a new beach picture for my blog!  It seems like when we travel, or when we have company here from out of town, it all revolves around when we are eating and what (or where), and this time is no exception.  When I talk with my mom in the next couple of days, she’ll go over menu ideas, and I already know we’ve been invited to a friend’s for fried fish (YUM) and out to dinner on July 4th.  I know the rest of the plans will revolve around food.  But that’s ok!!  Some of the best fish anywhere is out of Lake Superior!  I’ve arranged for pet care, my neighbor usually at least partially moves in when we aren’t here and that’s always reassuring.

I am not doing too bad right at the moment.  Sophie has been OK at night the past couple of nights so that’s helpful.  However two nights ago my temperature was 100 and my throat hurt the next day.  And I still have some body aches too.  Sometimes (most of the time) I don’t think I’m going to ever get better.   Sure wish I’d had Mono in high school, I could have at least stayed home and slept.

I am getting together with the other La Leche League Leaders in the area tomorrow for a meeting, they all went to a conference and I’m excited to hear about it.  I had strep throat but hadn’t signed up to go anyway, I couldn’t have imagined being with Sophie in a hotel room with a bunch of other people!  It will be nice to see everyone, I’m the newest leader in the area now.  I will have to see who will cover my phone calls when we’re away.

I’m not sure if I will be able to update this while in the UP.  The last time we were there, we had to use a painful dial up connection, and even getting my email was very hard.  I can try to update if I have time to sit at the computer, maybe while the baby is napping, if I’m not asleep myself.

Clane’s sister is moving back to Florida tomorrow.  She has been in Michigan a little over a year, but unfortunately had a heck of a time finding a job, and the one she did find didn’t pay well and required her to work every Saturday as well as all the days during the week.  I’ll sure miss her!  It kinda stinks that she’s leaving.  But I think Florida is more home to her now, she lived there a long time before this.

Well time for me to head to bed.  It’s getting late.  I hope it will be easy to update this from the UP because I’ll probably have a lot to talk about.  It should be a fun trip!  I also think I am done using blogspot and will be using wordpress from now on.  I like it a lot better, I like being able to read my stats and stuff.

One thought on “Last few days before we head north!

  1. Doh! I forgot you were going up north — disregard my phone message! 🙂 Have a good time — I hope you get to relax a lot!

Leave a Reply

